Veronique Darwin

I Ate a Book!

In Book Club on July 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Not really, but reading fast! So fast!

The Blue Light Project is the latest book by Timothy Taylor, the Vancouver-based author who wrote Stanley Park.

(photo taken from arts.nationalpost.com)

I will tell you nothing about the book except for this:

I will do a review once I’m done, but I’ll probably just post another Youtube video of parkour.

Timothy Taylor was previously nominated for the Giller Prize  for Stanley Park so I will take this as an opportunity to tell you that as you were busy reading and thinking about my blog posts from a few weeks ago about how I am doing two self-made, self-entertaining challenges where I read a Pulitzer prize-winning book from each decade and also a Governor’s General prize-winning book from each decade, I changed my mind.

I am doing the Pulitzer thing, because I want to read some American classics I haven’t read, but I am a lot more interested in modern Canadian authors. So I am going to choose from the past ten years of Giller-prize nominees (not necessarily winners) one book from 2001 until now.

First up: Anil’s Ghost by Michael Ondaatje.

Check out an excellently written review of my first Pulitzer book, The Age of Innocence, and then also a series of poorly-written book reviews I recorded in a journal of mine that is on paper not blog.

Anyway, I have to go sit in a hammock and read this thing.

Leave a Reply

