Veronique Darwin

What If I Hadn’t Written

In My Writing, Thoughts on Writing on August 9, 2012 at 7:48 pm

If I hadn’t written today, I would not have realized something about my two main characters because I wouldn’t have written the paragraph that told me it. If I had written yesterday, where might my story have gone?

I think it’s inevitable that every moment contains the potential for a different piece of writing. I wouldn’t have written this blog post this morning, or later this evening. I’m writing it now in a hammock, and salsa music is playing in the distance, and I just took my nail polish off. I am in a moment; so is my paragraph.

Is this why people decide to write in a routine? Do some people choose to write in the mornings because the book they are writing needs mornings? They’re writing a morning book? Is this what we decide, without realizing we’re deciding it?

My blog posts are created in moments. I don’t plan what to write before I write; I write. I use semi-colons because I feel balanced! If I planned ahead of time, then I would create a strange dissonance between the part of me that wanted to write such a thing twenty minutes ago and the part of me that wants to write the moment down.

I love the fact that I didn’t run into you on the street corner today but I met you at a party four years ago. I love that. I love circumstance and chance and coincidence. So why not apply the same concept to my writing?

That being said, my editing comes from a place of consistency. It must be on its game (its same game) this morning and tonight and if I’m editing over lunch. But when that place is shut down, when I am writing to create, my typing fingers live completely in the moment. What if I hadn’t written today? I would have missed something big. What if I don’t write tomorrow?

This is how vows to write every day and every moment are created. I will depend instead on coincidence. I write in the moments that I need to. I will rely on that.

Leave a Reply

