Veronique Darwin

Because I Told Someone I had a Blog

In My Writing on July 8, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Because I told someone I had a blog, and gave them the URL, (which is that really a thing anymore?) I think I should write a post today. Because also I read a few previous posts and laughed at them, so can recognize that at least this blog pleases me. Because I have been writing a lot lately but maybe not thinking a lot about my writing. Because I have NOT been writing a lot lately, and where did that sentence come from?

Here is what writing has become to me lately: sometimes when I’m trying to fall asleep but can’t I think about my novel, then I fall asleep.

I opened another blog to be more professional. It has my name in the URL (which has to still be a thing) and it has pictures of me and it is meant to promote me as a serious writer. Unfortunately, I am not one, so the blog didn’t work! I am a writer who also got lost into being a teacher and being a person who buys a house and being a person who cooks and does dishes. I am being a person, and writing is hard to fit into that framework!

This is not my professional blog. This is my tree fort of complaints. This is my childhood room of insecurities. This is my diary of questions, left open on the corner of my expertly-cluttered desk, begging you to read me with few expectations and a little embarrassment (on your account, to be reading it).

B-log it is not. This is not a book, or a log. It is not a thing! It is a place I go to when I want to think about writing but feel that the empty page, the blinking cursor, is too much right now. It is the place I go to for 3 likes on Facebook, for a boost in robot stats, for a sense of accomplishment from releasing something into the world that isn’t a sneeze, that isn’t a piece of my hair blowing out behind me.

Because writing is this thing I do and I need to do it, and stop just not doing it all the time.

  1. That overwhelming feeling of the blinking curser you mentioned – I had that before I left you this comment. Yea. I know. If leaving a comment is too much for me how will I ever get to writing anything that’s actually substantial? But the truth is, I needed to leave you this comment…
    I found your blog by accident in October last year. The post I stumbled upon was “The Shortest Story” while doing some research for my own short story that is now mere weeks away from its due date. At the time I had no idea what I wanted to write about or how I wanted to write it. Then by some good fortune the internet gods granted me your post in the search results. And so I read… “the short story is about a moment,” and I suddenly knew how I wanted to tell mine.
    I went on to read a lot of your other posts, and I enjoyed every one of them. Especially the one about noses. This post in particular really hit home because yes, it is hard fitting in writing with being a person (I mean, that’s a full time job).
    So what I am trying to say (albeit in a drawn out sort of way) is thank you – and keep writing. I don’t know you but I’m sure I speak for many others when I say that you have made an impact on a person probably half the world away. I like your wit. I like your honesty. I like your blog. So keep on writing because what you are sending out into the world is damn inspirational and bloody brilliant! 🙂

    • This is the best message I’ve ever received!! Know that giving out props like this is the best thing you can do. Thank you for making me feel read, and for letting me know I’ve inspired you! I don’t know if this is too much to ask, but can I read your story when it’s done?

  2. I’m so glad to hear that! It was really no problem. I’d love to send you my story when its finished. And I can’t wait to read more from you, here and in your story about Jillian and Gil whom I’ve heard/read a lot about.

Leave a Reply

